I want to be a C student...

I want to be a C student...

Give me a "C" in school, but an "A" in web development.

It's 12th July 2023. Preparing for my math test tomorrow. Feeling like life's being sucked out of me because I can't do what I'd love to do - create amazing websites via code. So I'm making a very controversial decision: I no longer care about first class. Or any of those educational accolades they award to exceptional academic performance.

I know myself. I don't care about being an exceptional academic performer. One litmus test I use to check whether I should do something is this: if I were to die tomorrow, would I want to spend my time now doing this?

And the truth is, if I were to die tomorrow, I would not care about reading for your stupid exams. A "B" or "C" is okay in my books. I don't mind being an average academic student, but I mind being an average front-end engineer. I cannot be an average developer! It is not possible.

I want an "A" in web development, not MTH 122. And if I were to die tomorrow, I'd open my computer and build websites that tell stories. I won't spend time reading for some MTH 122 test.

So, to hell, with an "A" if it requires me to give up time I should use building appealing websites. I no longer care. ✌️

And for the first time in my life, I am free.

(My Bible tells me in Romans 8:37-39, that nothing can separate me from the love of God. Not even a "B" in the MTH 122 test. Or a "C". Or whatever grade I get.)

Look, I love school. But deep down, I want to write code and do cool stuff. And school's stopping me from doing that. School's leading me away from my heart.

Cheers to myself for the courage to tread the path less travelled.

...

I wrote this when I was younger, while it is an honest way of me saying what I want, it is extreme. It is possible to get an "A" in school and an "A" in web development. There is nothing I cannot do, as a child of God.